Mabel DOLMETSCH anthology

  • Descripción
  • Mas Detalles

Mabel Dolmetsch anthology. Viola gamba - Hapsichord

This anthology celebrates the life and work of Mabel Dolmetsch (1874–1963) on the fiftieth anniversary of her death. It brings together timeless melodies such as Belle qui tiens ma vie and Heartsease, sixteenth-century dances from the Medici Manuscript in the Dolmetsch Library, and examples from the French viol repertoire, including Récit de la viole seule et Sarabande from the Sonate for eight instruments by Marc-Antoine Charpentier and pieces by Sainte-Colombe, Jean-Baptiste Forqueray and Marin Marais. The harpsichord realizations are by Arnold and Jeanne Dolmetsch, and, for the two pieces by Charpentier, by Julie Anne Sadie. The eloquent Adagio from J. S. Bach’s Sonata no. 3 in G minor, BWV 1029, brings the collection to a close.

The edition includes a guide to the language of French ornamentation.
Partitura + parte viola de gamba.