Muffat. Apparatus Musico-Organisticus.

Toccatas, Ciacona, Passacaglia & Nova Cylopeias Harmonica

MUFFAT, George

58,00 €
IVA incluido
disponible. Sólo 1 en stock
Espiral metálica
58,00 €
IVA incluido
disponible. Sólo 1 en stock

Georg Muffat’s organ music is not as well known as his ensemble pieces. Yet, his 1690 Apparatus musico-organisticus, which replaced an earlier collection of toccatas, was popular enough to have been re-engraved after the composer’s death in 1704. Apparatuscontains twelve toccatas and four occasional pieces in what he refers to as his ‘mixed style’, which combined elements of French, German and Italian compositional practices. Unusually for seventeenth-century composers, he left precise performance instructions for his concerti and, expecting an international market, released his string music in German, French, Italian and Latin imprints. These are important to the performance of Muffat’s organ music since they discuss ornamentation, style and rhetoric. Editor Jon Baxendale has freshly translated these texts, drawing together those elements that are pertinent to the performance of the music contained in this volume.

The preface also discusses stylistic antecedents and stylus fantasticus. It also considers ornamentation, registration and fingering using contemporary German manuscript and print sources.

Twelve organ toccatas for organ
Four incidental pieces: Ciaccona, Passacaglia, Nova Cyclopeias Harmonica
Full critical commentary
A new and detailed interpretation of Muffat’s performance instructions
Detailed overview of fingering, rhythmic alteration and registration.

Edited by Jon Baxendale. 153pp.

Artículos relacionados